Thursday, April 21, 2011

Biggest Sea:Arabian Sea

The Arabian Sea (Arabicبحر العرب‎ Baḥr al 'ArabTulu:ಅರಬ್ಬೀ ಸಮುದ್ರ Arabi SamudraMarathiअरबी समुद्र Arabi SamudraMalayalamഅറബിക്കടല്‍ Aṟabikkadal,Persianدریای پارس Darya-ye 'Pars) is a region of theIndian Ocean bounded on the east by India, on the north by Pakistan and Iran, on the west by the Arabian Peninsula, on the south, approximately, by a line between Cape Guardafui in northeastern Somalia andKanyakumari in India. Some of the ancient names of this body of water include Sindhu Sagar (meaning "Sea of Sindh" in Sanksrit)[1] and Erythraean Sea.

The Arabian Sea's surface area is about 3,862,000 km2 (1,491,130 sq mi).[2] The maximum width of the Arabian Sea is approximately 2,400 km (1,490 mi), and its maximum depth is 4,652 metres (15,262 ft), in the Arabian Basin approximately at the same latitude as the southernmost tip of India. The largest river flowing into the Arabian Sea is the Indus River; others include the Netravathi,SharavathiNarmadaTaptiMahi, and the numerous rivers of Kerala. The Arabian Sea coast of central India is known as the Konkan Coast, and that of southern India is known as the Malabar Coast.

The Arabian Sea has two important branches — the Gulf of Aden in the southwest, connecting with the Red Seathrough the strait of Bab-el-Mandeb; and the Gulf of Omanto the northwest, connecting with the Persian Gulf. There are also the gulfs of Cambay and Kutch on the Indian coast. The largest islands in the Arabian Sea are Socotra(off the Horn of Africa) and Masirah (off the Omani coast) as well as the Lakshadweep archipelago off the Indian coast.
The countries with coastlines on the Arabian Sea areSomaliaDjiboutiYemenOmanIranPakistanIndia and the Maldives. There are several large cities on the Arabian Sea coast including AdenMuscatKarachiSurat,MumbaiMangaloreKozhikodeKochi and Thiruvananthapuram.

No comments:

Post a Comment